Skip to content

Are we grateful?

February 22, 2012

I think the answer to that question is no. The vast majority of us are not grateful for what we have. We bitch and moan about how tough life is, how broke we are and can’t afford this luxury or that luxury. We look into others lives and wish we could be them for just one day, assuming they have it so much better.

I am guilt of all of the above and rarely take a step back and actually look at what I DO have.

I have a fantastic husband and two amazing children. Of course we all get under each other’s skin from time to time but the bottom line is that, at the core, we are a very happy family and have a tremendous amount of love between us. I need to remind myself to be more grateful for them sometimes.

I have wonderful parents who would do anything for me. We were blessed to have a home full of love when I was growing up, but I completely took this for granted as being the norm. It was only when I grew older and some friends spoke about their families that I realised that we had it quite good. I am grateful for this most of the time.

I have a brilliant and strong younger sister. We fought like hell when we were growing up but I think most siblings did! We have a bond like no other and she truly inspires me at times. I need to remind myself to be more grateful for her sometimes.

I have a great job that I really do love which offers a comfortable and flexible working environment. I have really great work mates that I work well with and also can have a good laugh with. I am grateful for this a lot of the time.

I have a few best friends. I honestly do not know what I would do without them. They are my shoulder to cry on in times of need, my drinking buddies in times of escapism and my informers in times of sick children/ potty training/ sleep issues… the list is endless! I am grateful for them all of the time.

So what I have decided to do is to start a ‘Grateful Journal’… how very ‘Dawson’s Creek’ of me! I’ll aim to add three things each day that I am grateful for.. it can be as simple as a stunning sunrise, a sleepy smile from my children or a task made easier in work. I think it will be a good exercise for me to start seeing the positive things in my life rather than getting bogged down on the negatives.

I have finally realised that the grass probably isn’t greener on the other side and to be extremely happy and grateful for what and who I have in my life.

My Grateful Journal (instagram pic by me)

From → Family, Other Stuff

2 Comments
  1. I think a grateful journal is a great idea. Too often in life, we do not slow down enough to stop and think about what we do have and what is really important. I enjoyed reading your post. There really is something to be said for the old cliche, Stop and Smell the Roses. Thank you.

    • Thank you so much for your response! It is great how something that I thought of and scribbled down can actually effect others! Thanks again for your encouragement!

Leave a Reply

