Skip to content

Haggard…

March 13, 2012

Instagram pic by me

Haggard is defined as ‘having a gaunt, wasted, or exhausted appearance, as from prolonged suffering, exertion, or anxiety; worn’.

An awful expression, I think most will agree but it is a word I have found myself muttering occasionally when I catch myself in the mirror of late. I had a chat with my best mate last night and she too mentioned the same phrase in relation to herself and it got me thinking about what I am doing to shake that haggard feeling…

At 35 I think I am just simply at that age where I’m looking my age. Now, many may think I have always looked my age but in my mind I kinda stopped ageing at around 26 and unfortunately it feel like the last decade has caught up with me over the past two months!

So, what am I doing about it?

Me in preparation for an Adventure Race (Instagram pic)

I am getting more exercize. I am pushing my body to make it feel youthful again and it is amazing what your body can do after years of hibernation! I have set myself a number of running and adventure race tasks throughout the year and hope to achieve all of them.

I have just started ‘Operation Face Transformation’, a term coined by me! This involves me taking the first ever steps to a cleansing ritual for my face morning and night. I am ashamed to say that I have never had a routine of cleansing and toning and moisturizing and I am afraid that it is now showing!
I am cutting out wheat. I know and have known that I have a wheat intolerance for five years. I decided to completely ignore this fact for the last few years and I have decided enough is enough. If my haggard body is finding it difficult to deal with wheat then I must listen to it and at least eliminate it for long enough to see if it makes a difference.

I have started listening to music again. Music makes me feel alive. Old songs bring back amazing memories and capture time for me like nothing else and current music is doing exactly the same for me. I will look back in 10 or 20 years and when ‘Move’s Like Jagger’ comes on I will remember exactly what was happening in my life at that time!

I have started a hobby. Instagram has absolutely added to my life and changed the way that I look at the world. The people closest to me have realised that this isn’t a passing phase and have become more tolerant of me stopping to take photos of walls or the sky or a doorway! Instagram makes me think about my surroundings and to appreciate them. It brings me on a whirlwind trip around the globe into others lives at the swipe of an iPhone! I love it!

So, basically what I’m doing is transporting my haggard self back to being that 26 year old carefree girl and in no time at all I’ll have my decade back!

From → Other Stuff

2 Comments
  1. anne-marie nulty permalink

    U have a talent Jill. Keep all ur blogs, put them together, hey presto, a bestseller on ur hands:) glad to hear you’ve started a cleansing routine, welcome to ur thirties!! By the way, u are not haggard, for someone who hasn’t cleansed and toned all her life, u look fabulous. (Bitch):) stay well, keep typing. X ambrose

    • Ah thanks Ambrose!! Very kind of you. It all just comes to me and I just write it down.. very little thought actually goes into it and if I can do it anyone can!

Leave a Reply

