Skip to content

The Great Gatsby

May 2, 2012

I first read “The Great Gatsby’ by F. Scott Fitzgerald when I was 21 and immediately fell in love with the book and characters. I was introduced to it by my then boyfriend, an American lad studying in Ireland. He loved literature and music and even though books played a large part of my growing up, he introduced me to ‘grown-up’ books and authors!

The Great Gatsby is a short book that packs a punch! I remember reading it twice in one week the first time I got my hands on it. I then read it again a few months later and herein began the ritual.

I have read it nearly every year since and whilst travelling the World at 24 with my then boyfriend, now husband I would dash into every secondhand book shop I passed to buy a copy of the book.

I now have around 25 copies of the book! All of them are second hand. Some have notes in the margins and underlined passages from lucky students who had this marvelous book on their curriculum and others have love notes on the first page to their original owners.

There is something magical about a second hand book – with each turn of the page you have no idea what may have been left behind as a book marker or scribbled down. On that point, a friend once found an ultrasound scan of a baby in a second hand book.. the poor woman was and is probably still wondering where that scan is.

Here is my favourite passage from the book – when Gatsby kisses Daisy for the very first time…

He knew that when he kissed this girl, and forever wed his unutterable visions to her perishable breath, his mind would never romp again like the mind of God. So he waited, listening for a moment longer to the tuning-fork that had been struck upon a star. Then he kissed her. At his lips’ touch she blossomed for him like a flower and the incarnation was complete.

Do you have a book you have read over and over and over?

The Great Gatsby by F Scott Fitzgerald

The Great Gatsby by F Scott Fitzgerald

From → Other Stuff

3 Comments
  1. I have read and loved The Great Gatsby. There is something infinitely moving about the extents to which love can take some people. You might want to try “Love in the time of Cholera” which is along similar lines, perhaps more intense.

    • Thanks for stopping by.. I have read Love in the Time of Cholera too.. same boyfriend introduced me to that little treasure too!

      Your poetry is lovely – I look forward to reading more!

      • Thank you so much, I was glad to be reminded of that passage from The Great Gatsby.
        Do share more of your favorites, looking forward to them 🙂

Leave a Reply

