Skip to content

All or nothing…

May 23, 2012

I have never been a skinny-malink and don’t think I ever will be (without surgery at least!). I have struggled with extra poundage through my late twenties and into my thirties and after having two children it is even harder.

My issue is that I am an ‘all or nothing’ girl and that is great when I am ‘all’ but not so good when I am ‘nothing’. Many diets advocate everything in moderation. This is of no use to an ‘all or nothing’girl – if you tell me I can have one treat a day I’ll have a pack of biscuits!

I’ve put on a few pounds recently and I really want to shift them but I keep on slipping back into the comfort of my sofa and food. I have started running again but I am still struggling with the food end of things and I have no idea why I won’t just watch what I am eating. It’s like I’m stupid or something!

I know exactly how to shed the pounds and how long it will take me and most importantly, how bloody good I will feel about myself. Still, I just won’t do it…. even though I want to?

Maybe writing this will propel me to get my act together… I hope so as I need to get into a bikini in just over two weeks which is not enough time at all but I hope I can start the process at least.

Any advice for an ‘all or nothing’ dieter?

It's salad for lunch today!

It’s salad for lunch today!

From → Food

2 Comments
  1. I’ve been following James Duigan’s ‘Clean, Lean Diet’ which is basically a low carb diet with one ‘treat meal’ a week where you can eat anything you want. It’s working well for me.

Leave a Reply

