Skip to content

Juggling to make a house a happier home…

September 24, 2012

I feel like I am in a constant state of juggling at the moment. I’m trying to get everything right and I honestly don’t think it is possible!

One week I am really organised with getting the childrens uniforms, after-school clothes and creche clothes organised for the week ahead. Another week it might be well planned out and some pre-cooked dinners or spending time with my family but it is very rare that I get everything just right.

As a working Mom I have a lot to juggle and there is one ball that is constantly being dropped.

That ball is the house work. There just never seems to be enough spare time to get it in order. If we do have some time at the weekend the last thing I want to do is tidy. I’m tired from all the madness of the week and just want to have a rest and read a book!

I know that I am not alone in this.  I am not a neat freak by any stretch so it is ok for my house to be untidy but something has changed and all of a sudden it is really getting to me.

What I need is to take a day off for each room in my house to de-clutter and rearrange. I need a filing cabinet to file away all the important paperwork. I need to empty out the attic and donate what we don’t need. I need to donate a LOAD of toys to charity that we no longer use. I need to go through the pantry and presses and chuck all the food that is out of date or redundant. I need to go though our ‘under the stairs’ room and possibly get rid of most of the stuff in there.. what ever it is! The bathroom closets need to be cleared and I really need to sort out the children’s clothes that are too small for them.

I know that I would be a much happier person if I lived in a tidy house and my husband would think all his Christmases had come at once!

It would be great if there was a ‘de-clutter my house’ programme on telly.. I’d be first in line to be shamed into it!!

So failing that maybe I should just take the time off to get it sorted out for once and for all….. I know it will make our house a happier home.

Our living room carpet on an average day...

Our living room carpet on an average day…

From → Family, Other Stuff

2 Comments
  1. Liosa permalink

    We have too much stuff, that’s what I think the problem is. Women in the fifties were able to manage because they were cleaning up one pair of trousers and one doll or car per child. My mother for example had one doll and a chair for her. She had her school uniform (one set!) and a weekend dress. So we are being judged on the standard of houses that had much less stuff…. Houses with lots of stuff (the bigger ones) had staff. Even middle class women would have had help. Working class women helped each other, my grandmother tells me all the time that the cleaning was done with each other on each others houses, the spring clean was an all hands on deck for the estate where you lived. She says they’s all start on number one and work their way along. Women in todays society are put under pressure that they should keep a tidy house, but with the masses of clothing and toys for kids its impossible…. Installing a system for playing like putting the toy back before choosing another helps some but to be honest I do not know how women working 9-5 jobs do any of it!! You are all warriors in my eyes and should be applauded.

    • Thanks for the comment Liosa. That is so true about having too much ‘stuff’. I love the idea of everyone getting together to get everyones house tidy! It’d never work now; people are to private and proud to let the whole street in to see their untidy houses!

Leave a Reply

