Skip to content

First fortnight with my new camera…

November 6, 2012

If you’re reading this post you will probably know that I love taking photos with my iPhone and putting them through Instagram filters. I thought about buying a ‘proper’ camera for a long time but never quite got around to it and lets face it, they are not cheap.

So the other week, on a Monday, I made the decision there and then that I was going to buy the camera and it was in my grubby little hands within an hour! I ended up buying the Canon 650 with the 18-55 lens… and I LOVE IT!

I bring it everywhere I go. I am very much still learning how to use it and take countless photos of the same thing with different settings… and then forget which settings produced the best outcome! I’ve been out and about on a few photo walks and at events just trying everything out.

I found myself in a funny situation at the launch of my Dad’s book. I brought my shiny new camera with me and wore it around my neck with pride, snapping away.

Then there was a major media scrum which was An Taoiseach Enda Kenny arriving. I dashed up and took my place in the front line of all the media photographers and the adrenaline rush was brilliant! I’m smiling as I type this thinking about it! I am very surprised I wasn’t booted out of the way by the media but they were very nice to me!

So here are a few of my photos from the first two weeks with my beloved camera, none of them have been filtered or photo-shopped .. that is another day’s work!

Enjoy!

A walk in the woods

A walk in the woods

Boots

Boots

The Sugar Loaf, Co Wicklow

The Sugar Loaf, Co Wicklow

Sun, waves and sand at sunrise

Sun, waves and sand at sunrise

Sunrise at the farm

Sunrise at the farm

Playing with light and shadow

Playing with light and shadow

dusk in between trees

dusk in between trees

Farmers field

Farmers field

Sunrise on Nov 1st

Sunrise on Nov 1st

From → Family

3 Comments
  1. The clarity and quality of a good camera is super, ur like a kid in a sweet shop.I have a Cannon as well and they are great…..happy learning!

  2. You should go take your shiny new Canon to Connemara or Westport in Mayo as there are endless opportunities to learn how to use it and the opportunities are spectacular.

  3. I think this is one of the most significant info for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark on some general things, The website style is great, the articles is really excellent : D. Good job, cheers

Leave a Reply

