Skip to content

Meditation takes dedication

December 11, 2012

At the beginning of November I set myself a 21 day challenge. My challenge was to get on board the free Depaak Chopra 21 Day Meditation Challenge all about Creating Abundance in Your Life. It involved downloading a new 15min meditation every day and I was delighted with the prospect of getting all Zen!

Who doesn’t have 15 minutes in their day to just sit still?

Turns out I don’t.

My mornings are filled with children from around 6.30 and sometimes earlier and I leave the house at 7.30 to drive and hour and a half to the office. I work all day and then come home to a house filled with children from 6pm – 8pm. I then have to tackle the dinner and eat it.

So I found my 15min slot at 9pm after my full day. I was delighted with myself and headed into my bedroom with my phone and earphones to plug out of the world and into my 15 minute meditation.

The first evening was lovely. I really enjoyed it and managed to completely zone out of my life and into the Univerese. The second evening was a bit hectic so I didn’t get to it till 9.30pm and I was just too tired to concentrate. The third evening, again, I was too tired to let go properly.

So, I decided morning was the only time for me to meditate. Day four I set my alarm to go off at 6am, toddled into the sitting room and began my 15 min session only to be interrupted by not one but both children!

It was at this stage that I just threw in the towel.

I’m really annoyed that I gave up. On the one occasion it did work out for me I really enjoyed it and felt completely relaxed and energized afterwards. I felt a connection with something much larger than life and it calmed me. I really feel that I need to give this another shot.

So in the New Year I’ll set my alarm and try to beat the kids to it each morning and on the mornings it doesn’t work out I’ll pop a little ‘Do Not Disturb – Meditating’ sign outside my office door at lunchtime and just take this time for myself to meditate.  I might even pop to the local park with a little cushion and take my 15mins in the great outdoors.

I’m sure I’ll get some odd looks but my eyes will be shut so I won’t know!

Meditation

Meditation in the Park

From → Mindfulness

2 Comments
  1. I really like this idea, must investigate
    J

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. What would a therapist say? | sitting on the bench...

Leave a Reply

