Skip to content

Love letters…

January 23, 2013

I’ve written before about how it’s the little things that make me really happy. Those who know me know I’m a big softie with a sensitive soul; it does not take a lot to make me smile or cry. But lets concentrate on the smiling for the time being!

I’ll give you an example; the other day I was in the kitchen barefoot doing some jobs. I sound like Cinderella! My five year old daughter appeared behind me, tapped me on the bum and held out my slippers saying “Your feet must be freezing Mommy, here are your slippers so your toes can get all snuggy and warmy”.

I threw my arms around her and gave her the biggest hug and kiss and thanked her from the bottom of my soul. She was a bit taken aback by the joy it brought me but it was such a lovely random act of kindness. I explained that what she did meant so much to me. She was so happy that she was able to make me so happy by performing such a simple act.

So when I came across this brilliant article in The Guardian the other day it put me in a spin! It was written about Hannah Brencher (@hannahbrencher) who has set up a movement called The World Needs More Love Letters.. (@moreloveletters) and I believe she is right.

People all over the World are writing Love Letters to complete strangers. They are putting pen to paper and leaving a positive note, message, quote or even drawing in an envelope in a place where it will be found by the next passer by. I believe the letters are found by worthy recipients who may have been having a hard day, month or year and that these words from a stranger will have a positive and maybe even profound impact on them.

I believe fate is involved. Each letter is found by a specific person because it contains a message they need to read.

I’m all for random acts of kindness and have been known to pay the toll for the car behind me at the toll booth. It requires a bit of explaining to the people at the booth but I just ask them to tell the next car that the car in front has paid their toll and said to say “Have a nice day”.

I have no idea what happens after the barrier goes up and I drive through. Does the person on the toll pass my message on, does the owner of the next car pay the favour forward to the next car and the next and the next? Who know’s but I like to think that my little act of kindness puts a smile on another humans face. It certainly makes me smile doing it!

So as soon as I can I will buy some stationary and envelopes and I will write my Love Letters. I’ll keep them with me in my handbag and car and wait for a moment when I feel the time is right to hide my letter to be found by a complete stranger. I only hope that they brighten up a few peoples days.

Keep an eye out, no really, do, coz my letters will be hitting Dublin shortly. Happy reading!

The world needs more love letters (photo courtesy of @kdubbub)

The world needs more love letters (photo courtesy of @kdubbub)

From → Other Stuff

6 Comments
  1. I love this post!! My 4 year old told me today she was so sorry for doing something. I didn’t ask her for an apology she was so genuine in it and I realised how special she was to even think that I needed to hear one! Being especially thoughtful towards people is especially nice. Thanks for sharing this!

    • Oh that’s so lovely! My little one sometimes says out of the blue that I look lovely and it really makes my day! Thanks for reading and for your comment!

  2. I’m a big big believer in writing love letters and its why I’ve written books on the subject encouraging people to do this very thing. It’s so important that people openly communicate their feelings openly and honestly and love letters give people a great option if they find it difficult to express deep sentiments face to face. I really applaud what Hannah is doing.

    Your daughter sounds like a complete sweetheart btw! Bless her. It’s always those innocent moments that melt the heart. I hope your toes did get warmed!

    Have a great day
    Grace

  3. Love this post Jill! And I’m all for random acts of kindness. Gives me a warm fuzzy feeling inside whether I’m the giver or the recipient. I am also going to write and leave some letters here in the midlands and let karma take care of the rest. Thanks for sharing the idea. Pat

  4. I love the idea to spread love.

Leave a Reply

