Skip to content

Safety in numbers…

January 30, 2013

Firstly I want to point out that this is not turning into a dieting blog. I blog about what interests and effects me and at the moment it just happens to be dieting, which is probably relevant to the majority of people reading this!

So I’ve started the Fast Diet and I wasn’t sure how on earth it could work and help me lose weight. That didn’t stop me jumping in with two feet though! I then got to thinking about it and I now know the secret to the diet. By the way, this may all be in the book which I haven’t read so apols if this is stating the bleedin obvious!

So how is it possible to lose weight whilst eating as normal for five days and then eating 500cals for two… seems like you are just losing weight to put it back on on the normal days. But your not. Because this diet is a very, very clever diet and I’ll tell you why I think so now.

The Fast Diet is doable. Anyone can eat 500cals two days a week. You may start to struggle around the 5-7pm mark if you are like me but you then tell yourself that it’s grand, you can eat as normal tomorrow. This is what gets you through your fast day. On other diets there is no light at the end of the tunnel. It is one continuous slog of point counting, shaking, weighing and this is not sustainable for a long period of time unlike my new friend, the Fast Diet.

The Fast Diet makes someone like me who is completely unaware of how many calories are in anything aware of your calorie intake. This is the ingenious part… I was skeptical about any weight loss on this diet as my ‘normal’ can be quite bold but I now see that by monitoring calories for two days that it is making me watch my calories for the remaining five days. Ingenious!

The Fast Diet works because you step on the scales after each fast day (we all do it!) and see a big difference on the scales. For me it was -3lbs after my first fast day. I’m not going to gorge myself on crap all day after that result, I’m going to try to be good so I can keep those 3lbs off for the remainder of the week. Yes the scales will go up and down but at the end of the first week I’d be delighted with 3lbs off. The fast day has shown me what can happen with a little bit of effort and it is enticing me to continue to see better results.

Finally, it is the latest Fad Diet, everyone is talking about it and thousands are doing it. There is safety in numbers folks!

Just some lovely things I've recently bought. Didn't want to show a plate of raw veg!

Just some lovely things I’ve recently bought. Didn’t want to show a plate of raw veg!

From → Food

7 Comments
  1. It is ingenious, and well done on losing those 3 ibs!

  2. I am very curious about this diet. I’m not one to try diet plans, usually something just clicks in my brain and I start eating less of the bad, more of the good and walk, walk, walk but I’m struggling. What I’m confused about is what happens when you get to your goal weight? If you go back to eating normally 7 days a week do you not just put the weight back on or is it a case of training yourself into a new eating lifestyle? 🙂

    • I think the idea is that you make a lifestyle change to eat 500cals twice a week. There is also another version of this diet called the IF Diet – Intermittent fasting diet where you eat 500cals every second day in between normal eating. This is an option for those aiming for a goal weight if the weight loss stalls. I’m on my second fast day and after my VERY normal eating day yesterday I was still down the 3lbs!

      • It sounds really interesting. I’m tempted to give it a go. I might sound completely thick here but I have no idea how to calculate calories…Oh dear goooooogle 🙂

      • Check out the MyFitnessPal app. You just type in the name of the food or scan the barcode if in a shop and it tells you. It’s great. It also gives you different options of how the food might be cooked. It’s very good.

      • Ok, will do. Thank you, you’re a star!

  3. Hi there fellow faster! Thanks for following my blog about the Fast Diet, http://fastdays.wordpress.com/ You’re right – there is safety in numbers, so it’s nice to read about other people’s experiences on the diet. Good luck with it!

Leave a Reply

