Skip to content

Are you on your To Do List?

February 25, 2013

This morning I was faced with a bit of a dilemma. Should I jump out of bed, get kids and myself ready for creche, school and work only to sit in horrendous traffic yet AGAIN, or, should I get the kids ready whilst wandering around in my bathrobe, see them and hubby off at the door and get ready at a leisurely pace and avoid said traffic?

What to do?

I decided to be kind to myself. I didn’t have any pressing issues in the office first thing so why put myself through the stress of the morning madness and commute on bumper-to-bumper roads when I didn’t have to.

Be kind to yourself

Be kind to yourself

So, I jumped back into bed with a smug smile on my face and read a little for a while, had a long and leisurely shower, ate my breakfast in peace and left the house at 8.45am missing all the rush hour traffic.

I’m smiling as I’m typing this so this must be something I do for myself more often!

How often are we kind to ourselves? It is a lovely thing to be nice to yourself. To put yourself out for you! We are always doing things for others so every now and then I do something just for me.

It can be as simple as deciding that instead of cleaning up I’ll watch an hour of TV. I’ll detour to the beach with my camera to catch a sunrise on the way to work. I’ll make myself a nice breakfast at home and not wolf it down at my desk in work. I’ll walk the long way to something and take in my surroundings. Get a takeaway instead of cooking. They are all very easily done but life often gets in the way of these things and we very rarely put ourselves first.

I think as I get older I am getting better at prioritising myself but I also think it might be that I have more to juggle to so I have to include myself in my growing list of work, family, children, friends and home priorities.

Why not try adding yourself to your To Do list this week and be kind to you.

Taking time out to take photos. Bray Seafront, Co, Wicklow

Taking time out to take photos. Bray Seafront, Co, Wicklow

From → Mindfulness

One Comment
  1. I just wanted to compose a small message in order to appreciate you for
    the great hints you are placing at this site. My time consuming internet research has
    now been paid with reliable strategies to exchange with my guests.
    I ‘d declare that we visitors actually are unequivocally blessed to be in a good website with very many awesome individuals with very beneficial guidelines. I feel really fortunate to have discovered your web site and look forward to some more amazing times reading here. Thanks once more for everything.

Leave a Reply

