Skip to content

Will you donate?

March 8, 2013

This is a topic that has come up a few times in the past few weeks and I think it’s an important one to talk about. It’s organ donation.

I have recently changed my mind on this topic. Previously I thought the idea of someone talking parts of me away before I was buried would be the worst thing in the world. That it would be a violation, a trauma and an unnecessary step to put my family through after dealing with my death.

For some reason, and I’m not sure what that is, I have changed my mind on the matter.

Imagine if something from me could keep another person alive…

I worked with a man once who had a heart transplant. It nearly knocked me for six when I heard about it and it completely fascinated me beyond belief. I must have had around a thousand questions for him in true Jill style! Someone else’s heart was the engine for his body and he was so unbelievably grateful for it.

So what would I donate?

Organ Donation

Organ Donation

I think I would be happy to donate everything – I feel a little bit strange about my eyes but then again how amazing would it be if someone was to be a recipient of my eyes! The one thing I wouldn’t do is to give my body to science as I think that is very hard on the people left behind, to not know where you are.

So, there you go. When I am gone I really hope that my organs are in good shape and can hopefully save or enhance another’s life.

Will you donate?

That is surely the most profound choice a person can make; to give the gift of life to another.

Some information for Irish readers here

From → Other Stuff

6 Comments
  1. quinner permalink

    Great topic jill. Hospitals dont have the time to discuss donation in emergency situations.on the new drivers licence application form u can tick to box to donate in the event if an accident.

  2. GAM permalink

    A wonderful decision, Jilly, but I am surprised that it took until now to understand what your “bits’, which are useless otherwise, could do for someone else. I also read that the families of organ donors are much happier. They know that the organs of their beloved live on and make such a huge difference to those who will die otherwise and their families. Good thinking – a win/win for everyone. Now, make sure you sign any necessary forms! GAMx

  3. I’ve been thinking about it alot. And I think I’m pretty sure I’d be happy to, still haven’t made up my mind about my eyes yet….eeeekkk! x

  4. Dave permalink

    I would, and carry a donor card in my wallet. After all, once I’m gone in not gonna have a use for any of those bits so they may as well go to someone who could benefit from them.

    I also think more people should donate blood. It’s so easy and straight forward to do. It isn’t painful and takes about 40 mins and you only have to do it once every 90 days. Plus it can really go towards potentially saving a person’s life.

  5. I would and I carry a donor card.

    My dad was on dialysis for 7 years due to kidney failure, he was too old and had too many other medical conditions to be considered to receive a kidney from a donor.

    As for blood donation I would love to be a donor but as I lived in the UK I’m ruled out, the same applies to a lot of people I know.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. What would a therapist say? | sitting on the bench...

Leave a Reply

