Skip to content

A wiggly tooth…

March 20, 2013

My daughter is five and a half and my son nearly three. I am not sure how I got to this point? Life is flying by so quickly and there have been so many lovely, touching and funny moments along the way. I have held the important things in my memory but I am quite forgetful and fear that I’ll replace more important or funny happenings for past ones.

For instance, this morning my little girl bounced into me with a huge smile on her face to announce that one of her bottom teeth is wiggly! She was only delighted with herself as many of her friends have lost a lot of their baby teeth. (I know… children these days are losing their teeth much earlier than I recall losing mine)

…no matter what the age I remember it being fiercely exciting too!

It’s these sort of moments that I want to remember and keep for her when she is older. I want to be able to tell her how excited she was and show her the photo I took of her wiggling her ever-so-slightly-lose tooth!

I know other more organised parents have memory books/boxes/chests but I don’t. So I started to think, how can I document all this small but important stuff for my children for when we are all older and I found a perfect solution for me.

I am going to create a gmail account for both of my children in their names and email them funny things they say, photos I take and general stuff about their lives. I am on email all day long every day and it will be so easy to just drop them an email about everything. I can then give them their account when they are old enough for email or might event keep it till they are 21 and reveal all then.

I wonder has anyone else done this? I can’t imagine I am the only person to think of it.

Now, off to sign them up for their email accounts!

  • Update since writing: After I posted this I received a message from the lovely Sinead, author of Bumbles of Rice. She mentioned to me that she has a private wordpress account for each of her munchkins that she posts to. I think I’ll try this too although I think I may be more frequent an emailer than I would be a poster to their blogs! Only time will tell which will work best!
First time Mom face painted Spiderman.. for Paddy's Day!

First time Mom face painted Spiderman.. for Paddy’s Day!

From → Family

3 Comments
  1. OMG that is a fantastic idea. Thanks so much for sharing. I think I’d be better at posting teh emails rather than blog posts, I’m bad enough as it is with my own lol 😉

  2. Anne-Marie Nulty permalink

    Brilliant idea Jill. X

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. What would a therapist say? | sitting on the bench...

Leave a Reply

