Skip to content

A passion ignited…

April 22, 2013

I finally got around to buying a ‘proper’ camera late last year. I have been tinkering with it here and there, have had some great advice from people who know a thing or two about photography but I’ve kind of been winging it to be honest!

With the camera I also got a voucher for a half day course to learn the basics with Canon Ireland and the Institute of Photography. I went to it last Saturday and LOVED it!

It was a lecture format with all 150ish attendees separated by their camera model. There were five Canon Ireland pros on hand to help with any issues throughout. I was taught so many small elements that will make my photos better and make me think about how I can deliver the best photo before I press the button.

Whilst at the course I found out about a night shoot that was taking place that night, which was also free so I borrowed a tripod (something I now know one needs for a night shoot!) but on my jacket and headed into town for 9pm.

There were around 25 of us photo nerds in attendance and Dave McKane from the Institute of Photography and two Canon Ireland lads on hand to instruct and help. I must say I loved every second of it. I loved learning how to make my photo better and how the slightest change can make it so different. I have so much more to learn and really have an apatite for it!

Here are a few of the photos I took (unedited) with my newly honed skills whilst on the course!

Our fearless leader, Dave McKane, Institute of Photography

Our fearless leader, Dave McKane, Institute of Photography

This technique involved disabling the focus points, choosing the centre point and using this as our focus. My focus was on the lamps in this shot.

This technique involved disabling the focus points, choosing the centre point and using this as my focus. My focus was on the lamps in this shot.

This is a nice-ish photo but on refection the composition is all wrong. There is too much pavement in the foreground and I cut the bridge in half with one of the lamps. I Should have stood two paces to the right and two paces forward for a better shot.

This is a nice-ish photo but on refection the composition is all wrong. There is too much pavement in the foreground and I cut the bridge in half with one of the lamps. I should have stood two paces to the right and two paces forward for a better shot.

Fitting a lot into this one...

Fitting a lot into this one… I was trying to fit in the lights on the water and the bronze sculpture here. Again, I should have taken more time to adjust myself into a better position.

Nighttime shooting, using different White Balance settings to change the tone in the shots.

Nighttime shooting, using different White Balance settings to change the tone in the shots.

All the green lights remind me of The Great Gatsby. Some car trails on the right hand side in this shot which is very exciting to capture for the first time!

All the green lights remind me of The Great Gatsby. Some car trails on the right hand side in this shot which is very exciting to capture for the first time!

Leinster House, Dublin. I then went on my own nerdy night shoot afterwards. This is by no means perfect and there is a lot to change to make it better but I'll learn all that in due course.

Leinster House, Dublin. I then went on my own nerdy night shoot afterwards. This is by no means perfect and there is a lot to change to make it better but I’ll learn all that in due course.

 

 

From → Other Stuff

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

