Skip to content

Pre-loved stuff

May 2, 2013

I was talking to a few people in the 20’s about the latest phenomenon of everyone selling everything they no longer need. They looked at me blankly. I then realised it must be just a 30+ thing to do.. Almost everyone I know in that age bracket is selling off items of value, no longer used, bought in the boom!

Selling ‘stuff’ has been made even easier by sites like Adverts.ie, donedeal.ie, rollercoaster.ie and now a lot of towns/ areas have their own Buy and Sell Facebook pages.

I am a member of the Greystones Buy and Sell Facebook page and it is brilliant and slightly addictive to watch too! You can buy everything from a buggy, to a fireplace, cookers, door frames, clothes and my personal favourite so far, a uni-cycle. There is a reserve price put on each item by the seller and the bidding commences. It is moderated and there are rule watchers a watching to make sure everything is above board!

It is a lovely community. Everyone is very helpful if you are looking for something in particular and it also helps you meet people in your community, be it online or through a sale.

So far I have sold an iPhone4s, two old nokia phones, a buggy, a coffee table and some photo frames. I have made a total of €865 in the sale of these items and I am just about to close a deal on a bike and a buggy travel bag to add another €110 to my total. That’s nearly €1,000 for stuff I no longer use or need. In this day and age that money is a big help.

I currently have a couch, a girls and a boys bike and three tall office presses up for sale and hope to sell these in the coming days. (anyone looking for a lovely red three seater couch for €300 ono?!)

There are certain things I won’t bother selling and would prefer to donate them to charity. I recently donates a bin bag of children’s books and another three bin bags full of toys to the local St Vincent de Paul shop.

I brought my daughter with me and enjoyed the lesson that it taught her; not everyone goes to Smyth’s to buy their toys. I could have sold these bits and pieces, many do but it would probably have taken ages and I’d prefer to donate when I can.

So, have you ever sold anything online? Do you have anything to sell? Bet you do!

From → Other Stuff

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. What would a therapist say? | sitting on the bench...

Leave a Reply

