Skip to content

Listen to your heart

August 14, 2013

There are a few things I wish people told me when I was younger. I am discovering some of them now so I guess it’s better late than never.

I have only just discovered Yoga. Why oh why did I not start yoga in my twenties? Why didn’t anyone tell me to have a go? I’m an ex-gymnast and I have natural strength and flexibility so it would have been an easy transition and learning for me.

I have only been to two classes but I know that I love it and that I am going to make it part of my life. If I had been aware of this feeling when I was in my twenties I would have completed an instructor course and I just know I’d be a Yoga teacher now.

I found myself the other day checking out how I could train to become a Yoga instructor… am I too late?

Another thing I wish someone told me when I was younger was to really consider putting my passion for all things pregnancy into a reality. I have always had a huge interest in pregnancy since my early teens. When most were terrified to even mention the P word I was gushing that I couldn’t wait to be pregnant. I see it as the greatest gift of all times; to have the ability to facilitate the growth of a baby is the most wonderful thing I have ever done and ever will. I knew this at 16. I felt this at 16.

I think why oh why didn’t someone tell me to look into Midwifery as a career. I recently looked up what it would take to become a Midwife in my late 30’s and for me, it is too late. I have two young children and now is not the time to disappear from their lives for four years.

Why is my mind jumping to these opportunities now? Why not when I was young enough and available to carry some of them out?

It was probably because my career was mapped out from a very early age. I grew up in a house learning about launches, press trips, journalist junkets to far off shores, press releases, TV appearances and mentions of some high profile people. Who wouldn’t want to have a piece of this wonderful world of PR!

It was inevitable that I went to work with my Dad and at the age of 21 I signed my first contract and I am still here. I enjoy PR and the challenges it presents and I have been lucky to have a secure job all my working life and to work in an industry that excites me.

The likelihood is a few people in my life did mentioned that I should try yoga out, that I might like it and that I should check out Midwifery as a career but as my future was mapped out, I just didn’t hear it.

So on this day, the Leaving Cert results day, to all those thinking that their lives are mapped out by the slip of paper with a number at the end, let me tell you, your mind will wander into so many other areas over the course of the next few years and decades.

My advise is to let it wander, try it out and listen to your heart.

Midwife Jill

What I would have looked like as a Midwife!

From → Other Stuff

3 Comments
  1. apt13 permalink

    Hi jill – recently gave birth and had a doula with me at the birth! Its a non medical role at the birth but I found her abaolutely amazing support. Might be of interest to you and fit in with hour life rather than 4 plus uears of midwifery training – she trained through doula ireland!

    • I actually looked into this. I’d love to do it but I just wasn’t sure if there was a market for it in Ireland, plus Holles Street don’t allow Doula’s into the delivery rooms so that kinda made me rethink my Doula Plans! Delighted you had a great Doula experience though.. I think it is the way to go!

  2. apt13 permalink

    Hi jill – recently gave birth and had a doula with me at the birth in holles street! Its a non medical role at the birth but I found her absolutely amazing support. Might be of interest to you and fit in with your life rather than 4 plus years of midwifery training – she trained through doula ireland!

Leave a Reply

