Skip to content

Always be learning…

November 21, 2013

I recently had an opportunity to something that I’ve never done before. I went on live radio. A new friend from the land of twitter, Barbara Scully, has a new show on Dublin South Radio called The Hen House. Every Wednesday afternoon she invites her listeners to put the kettle on, turn the phone off and to hunker down for the next hour with her and her female guest.

When Barbara approached me and asked it I’d be interested I jumped at it. My first reaction was “Yes, that’d be brilliant” however my second was “sure what do I have to talk about for an hour that anyone would be interested in”.

I think my first reaction was possibly not the norm and most would have had my second reaction as their first! Why did I think I had nothing to talk about? I think it was my way of protecting myself against it or giving myself a way out. I admit, it was fleeting but it was still there.

I have lots to talk about and boy can I talk! I am raising a family whilst working in a busy job, running a company and on top of that making time for my twitter addiction! I also have the canny knack of knowing little about a lot. I pick up all sorts of information along the way.

So how did I find it? I loved it! I didn’t want it to end. Barbara is such a good interviewer that I forgot I had a huge furry microphone in front of me and could have easily put a glass of red in it’s place! The chat flowed seamlessly from one area of my life to another and it was over before I knew it.

But what did I learn from my experience. I learnt about about listening. I am a good-ish listener however when I listen I tend to say “yeah, yeah” whilst doing so. When I listened back I realised I did this in the interview and it drove me crazy! I need to let others talk and maybe just nod instead of butting in with a knowing “yeah” every 10seconds! I suppose it’s my way of showing I’m listening and engaged by boy was it annoying to hear!

I also learnt that I really have no fear of public speaking or communicating to the masses. I told a few friends and family I was doing this hour long live show and they were mostly flabbergasted that I was so calm about it. It just doesn’t phase me, which may be something I inherited from my dear old Dad!

Would this freak you out or would you jump at it?

Oh, and here is a link to the interview if you want to listen in whilst making the dinner some day!

From → Other Stuff

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

