Skip to content

Me, me, me

January 15, 2014

I know it’s taken me a while but here’s my first post for 2014 and you guessed right, it’s all about me, me, me. Well, not quite, but here we go.

This year feels like it’s going to be a special year for me. I can’t quite put my finger on why but I feel positive about the year ahead and it’s a really nice feeling. On the 1st January I sat in bed and wrote my resolutions for the year ahead. I really thought about them and eventually landed upon 16 resolutions that, if worked towards, would make me and ultimately the people around me happy.

So this year is going to be about making me a better version of myself. The way I see it is, if I’m happy and content it can only have a positive influence on everything and everyone else in my life, so instead of trying to change others I’m changing myself and it’s going to kick ass!

Some of the changes will take time, some will be easy and others may never happen, but I’m really going to try. I think you really need to want to make changes in your life in order for it to happen. For example it’s nearly impossible to give up smoking for someone else, you really need to want to do it for yourself. I tried and failed so many times and then the final time over 10yrs ago I just knew I’d never smoke again coz I really wanted to give up for me.

So what changes am I going to make? I’ll share some and keep others for myself! First change will be managing my weight and I am on the way to my end goal. I’ve set mini targets for myself along the way and with each target reached I’m gifting myself something special to celebrate never seeing that weight again.

I would like to be more consistent in my blogging as I really enjoy it. So you can watch this space for some more regular posting which will likely mean more random topics. I’ve tried using a blogging calendar but it’s just not how I roll! I get a thought, I type and I post. End of!

I also want to start using my camera more so I plan to join my local camera club and learn about photography in a hands on manner rather than doing a course.

There are a few changes I need to make at home that include more tidying around the house and exercising more patience when it comes to my family. If I can crack this one I’ll be delighted! I also want to spend more time with the people that make me happy and matter to me. I am very happy in my own company and in that of others and I can be lazy at times when it comes to making an effort with others.

I have a small fitness goal of getting out for a minimum of 30 mins twice a week for a walk, climb, jog or cycle. I really enjoy exercising, it’s the getting out part that is difficult for me! I always feel better and know it is benefiting me in so many ways so I just need to fight the urge to find the million and one excuses I have stored up and get out and do it.

So those are the area’s I’m willing to divulge for the moment and here’s to a fantabulous 2014 for everyone!

The words below from Gandhi sums it all up really…

 

Gandhi quote

From → Family

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

