Skip to content

Really? Already?

November 18, 2014

The other day I was writing a cheque and I found myself writing the year, 2014, as you do. The only thing that was different about it was I realised that it’s nearly 2015 and I haven’t had a chance to get used to it being 2014.

This year has flown by. It’s passed quicker than any other year I can remember. And I know why.

I’ve had a life changing year, in a good way. In January I decided to leave the family business I had been running for six years and had worked in for 17. I took a massive step and applied for the job of Head of Communications with Mental Health Ireland.

I had no idea how to tell my Dad that I was going for an interview and in the end I ended up telling him right before I left for it. I felt like getting sick. Not because I was nervous about the interview but because I had made my big move official with the only person that mattered.

He was, as always, very supportive wishing me luck and saying they’d be mad not to hire me on the spot (as any Dad would!).

I went through two rounds of interviews with presentations and press release tests and got a phone call on a rainy day on the N11 to say I had got the job. It is a very weird feeling to get my first new job so late in life. I had been in the same spot for 17 years and I needed a change. I love change and I felt if I didn’t go for it this year that I’d be stuck forever.

Everyone, including my Dad was delighted for me. It was the most difficult decision I have ever made though. I felt like I was abandoning my Dad and letting him and the family down. They wouldn’t hear anything of it and were so happy for me which I really really needed to see! There were lots of tears from me but no regrets.

So for the past six months I have been working in Mental Health Ireland and I love it. I love promoting and supporting mental health and look forward to doing more and more of it as I get my feet further under the desk! I am in the middle of a re-brand for the organisation which I am really enjoying and also can’t wait for it to be over!

At the beginning of this year I also dedicated this year to me. I highlighted a number of changes I wanted to make including to be happy in work and in myself. I sorted the work end of things out and at the same time have spent this whole year trying and succeeding in losing weight and losing it for good.

I joined Slimming World and it is the best thing I’ve ever done for myself. I have made some real friends over the year and learnt life lessons about food and nutrition that will stay with me forever. I have managed to nearly reach my weight loss target.. I have five weeks to go and 7lbs to lose so I’ve my eye on the prize.

It’s been a rollercoaster of a year for me. I’ve hardly noticed it passing, which is funny, because of all my 38 years it will be the one I will probably remember the most!

change

From → Food

2 Comments
  1. “The only thing that was different about it was I realised that it’s nearly 2015 and I haven’t had a chance to get used to it being 2014.” HAHA. I am so with you. As someone with bipolar disorder, I love that you enjoy working in the mental health field. Good for you. 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Important. Essential. Achievable. | sitting on the bench...

Leave a Reply

