Skip to content

Slimming World Fish Pie

February 2, 2015

I’m short on time but love my food and also love cooking. I’m a short-cut kinda gal and rarely follow recipes to the tee. So here goes with posting my first slimming world friendly recipe and I’ve gone with my version of Jamie Oliver’s Fish Pie because…. I had fish, potatoes and carrots and I improvised with the rest!

This was pulled together in 20mins tonight before I changed into my comfies and it’s the first time I’ve made it. It got 10/10 from himself and myself. This ones a keeper.

I firstly gathered all the ingredients I needed which included:

  • Smoked fish
  • Cod Fillet
  • 2 Carrots
  • 1 Courgette
  • 1 Leek
  • 1 Bok Choi
  • Cheddar cheese
  • 1 lemon – rind and juice
  • 5 spuds – I didn’t have enough so use seven
  • Glug of Milk
  • S&P
Slimming World Fish Pie ingredients

Slimming World Fish Pie ingredients

Quarter your spuds and put them into boiling water for 12 mins (controversial – they say if it’s dug up you put it into cold water but I can’t be waiting that long!)

Grate your carrot, courgette, lemon rind and cheese into the dish your going to cook your Fish Pie in. I tried grating the leek but this was not in any way successful so I just chopped it up.

Slimming World Fish Pie pre fish

Slimming World Fish Pie pre fish

Chop up your fish into bite size pieces and add to the dish. I then topped it with the Bok Choi and poured a glug of milk in. Jamie doesn’t use milk in his and I hate milk but without his ginormous glugs of oil it needed something to cook in!

Slimming World Fish Pie prep

Slimming World Fish Pie prep

Once you’ve finished all this your spuds should be done. I added a glug of milk, S&P and mashed them til fluffy and tried my best to make it stretch to cover the two dishes I had… I never get it right!

Slimming World Fish Pie pre cooking

Slimming World Fish Pie pre cooking

Then pop it into a hot over at 200 degrees for 40 mins. Jamie Oliver had celery and red chili in his recipe and no courgette or leek but I didn’t have celery and the kids won’t eat chilies. And this is how it turned out!

Slimming World Fish Pie out of the oven

Slimming World Fish Pie out of the oven

Slimming World Fish Pie with Green Beans

Slimming World Fish Pie with Green Beans

 

So for the Slimming World followers a portion of this is syn free and between the cheese and milk glugs it just about covers your Healthy Extra A and just to add a bit more veg I served it with green beans. A success all round and deffo one I’d make again.

From → Food

3 Comments
  1. Katherine Daly permalink

    Thank you can’t wait to try, sounds delish

    Kind regards Katherine

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Great idea to blog the recipes, must try this version of fish pie, mine’s in a thick white sauce.

    • When I make it again I’ll add boiled egg, peas and sweetcorn. It really is yummy. I’m having the second dish for dinner tonight!

Leave a Reply

