Skip to content

A Slimming World Meeting

February 4, 2015

Not all slimming/ diet programmes are the same. I can testify to that as I’ve tried most of them. Some have you listen to CD’s to figure out why you eat, some have one-on-one weekly consultations, some have small group meeting and others have large groups.

But the one thing they all have in common is the golden rule that you don’t discuss your weight at all…. with one exception… Slimming World. So here’s what happens at a Slimming World meeting.

Some of my diet books!

Some of my diet books!

It is literally the elephant in the room at all the other meetings. You’re dying to know how everyone got on but no body talks about their gain or loss in numbers. At Slimming World we all talk about our gains and losses very openly… and this is what makes it work.

Everyone weighs in before the class starts (newcomers have the new member talk and pay and weigh at the end) and it is recorded by the system and in your book. For each half stone and stone you reach you get a shiny sticker for your book and a little certificate – which lots of us put on our fridges to deter us!!

Once everyone is weighed the class commences. Lesley hands out the half stone, stone and target weight rewards at the start and then goes through the computer listing the loss/gain one by one and, gain or loss, everyone gets a big clap.

I know what you’re thinking… you don’t want the room of strangers to know what you weigh…. we don’t ever know your weight so don’t worry. We only hear if you lost or gained and how much in pounds.

At first I wasn’t too sure about this but our fabulous leader Lesley in Greystones is never judgmental when you gain and over the moon with a loss. It is an added incentive to stick to the plan. Of course if you rather your gain wasn’t called out that is never a problem. We all offer advise to those that gain or stay the same and nobody judges. Lesley will then give us tips, ideas, reminders and updates on the programme and answer any of our questions.

We have a Slimmer of the Week in every class and members are asked to bring some food with them every week which is put in a bag for the winner of that title. There are also Slimmer of the Month awards, Miss Slinky Award (which I won!!), Slimmer of the Year awards and much much more… all comes with bling for your book, certificates and flowers.

Slimming World Bling

We all understand each other because we are all there for the same reason. Some have stones to lose, others a few pounds and Lesley is there to get every one of us to our target.

We have a closed group on Facebook for Greystones members to vent, share recipes, show what they’ve eaten that day (very helpful if you’ve just started or fallen off the wagon!) and support one and other.

I’ve often said that if men ever wanted to truly understand what makes women tick all they need to do is to join Slimming World! Our group is very open about our ups and downs and that is all down to Lesley making our meetings a safe and secure place to talk. A few of us call it our weekly therapy session!

As I said at the beginning, I’ve tried them all and I know I will never see the two stone I’ve lost with Slimming World again. It works for me on so many levels. I feel supported, safe and mostly super full!  It’s the least restrictive plan I’ve been on. I’ve seen people shrink by 1,2,3,4 and 5 stone before my eyes. This plan works.

So, if you want to try a Slimming World meeting at least you’ll know what’s ahead of you. If you are joining Slimming World you will have a new member talk at the beginning while all the current members get weighed and then, if you like what you heard in the meeting you pay your €9, step up on the scales and start living the best decision you’ll ever make!

From → Food

One Comment
  1. Katherine Daly permalink

    I think SW is amazing, took me a good while to understand, in Nov I had big op so can’t get to meetings as I can’t drive so really appreciate this blog, many thanks, Katherine

    I am already on your list

Leave a Reply

