Skip to content

The Grey Area

February 8, 2015

I’m a competitive person and I like nothing more that to succeed at what I am doing. Yes I have lost two stone with Slimming World but it has been a long journey of too many ups on the scales for my liking.

I wrote a blog a while ago about why skinny people must think overweight people are so stupid. Surely it’s a black and white issue – eat less, move more. It couldn’t be further from the truth. It’s the biggest grey area out there. I eat when I’m stressed, bored, happy and sad and I don’t mean a healthy salad. I mean that food that you eat tucked in behind the fridge or cupboard door or in your car… yeah, the food that no one sees you eating and therefor you convince yourself it didn’t event happen!

Whilst talking to my wise friend I was telling her about my love/hate relationship with food and she said something that really struck a chord with me. She said, in the kindest way possible, that I was self harming with food. I was getting a release from whatever I was happy or sad about by eating junk food. I was sabotaging myself and all the progress I’m making.

Now, just to be clear, I’m not eating a tub of ice-cream, packet of biscuits and 12 Mars bars but I am eating much more than I need or should. Food is a comfort, it’s a reward for being fabulous but it shouldn’t be and it doesn’t need to be. I’ve just been reminded by a fellow Slimming World member we never feel better after eating all the food. It’s like an itch that can’t be soothed no matter how hard you scratch so the whole thing is a futile exercise. And we know this!

On this little journey of mine I have learnt so much about my relationship with food and I have finally started to make good choices when feeling the pangs of junk-food hunger!

So if you don’t mind, I think I’ll keep an update of my weigh-ins here to help keep me on track. I love a bit of pressure!!

I attend meetings in Greystones on a Tuesday at 7.30pm with the Fabulous Lesley. She is the reason I am still staying to class a year later and I have never not wanted to stay, regardless of what way my week has gone!

Last Tuesday I was down 1.5lbs which is a great weight loss for me. That makes me 4.5lbs away from my first target. I was supposed to reach this target pre Christmas but I kinda lost the plot with only a few lbs to go and then Christmas happened, and then January happened and now I’m here with 4.5lbs to go!

I am not one of these people who gets 3 and 4lb losses on the scales. It just doesn’t fly off me like that. It sure can fly on me though! So last week was a great result.

This post started as a post for Taco Fries so I’ve no idea where all of the above came from!

From → Food

2 Comments
  1. Laura permalink

    Really interesting comment about self harming with food isn’t it? Never thought about it that way before. Its definitely about finding a reward that isn’t food. I’m not sure I’ve found it yet but I hope to soon 🙂

  2. Katherine Daly permalink

    A lovely honest blog, I wish you the very best of luck, keep the recipes coming they are lovely, I envy you getting to SW I was going last year, loved the classes, then had surgery, won’t be back for a good while, so it’s nice to keep in the loop, many thanks ☺️☺️

Leave a Reply

