Skip to content

No more sitting…

May 5, 2017

It was pointed out to me that I may need to change the name of my blog, Sitting on the Bench. You see, for the next six months I will be training for the ultimate endurance challenge, the Dublin City Marathon…. I KNOW!!!

A few weeks ago I came across Amphibian Kings facebook post searching for six people, who have never run a marathon before, to train with them for the Dublin Marathon in October.

I replied “Ooooh, interesting”. I mostly meant interesting for other people, not me! And then….. peer pressure got to me!

And with that, I wrote my application and pressed send. In it I mentioned the farthest I have run is 10miles three years ago and I basically haven’t been running since. That I am carrying a little weight that I’m trying to lose, again, and that I think to run a marathon is the ultimate endurance test for your body and mind.

A few weeks later, I got an email asking f I wanted to run for 26.2 miles… and I said yes!

I feel apprehensive but excited. I am currently jogging 5km 2-3 times a week and I find it hard! Running doesn’t come naturally to me. In my youth I was a swimmer and a gymnast and never really played sports that required me to run. So basically, I’ll be learning how to run on my journey to the finish line of the Dublin Marathon!

Oh dear Lord!

I’ve purchased a snazzy Garmin Forerunner 235 running watch which will help me track everything, make the experience a little more fun of course make me run faster!

I’m looking forward to meeting the five other people who are joining me on this journey. They all met last night but I’m away with work in Galway so I missed our first meet up. GUTTED.

From the little I know about my new running buddies I am the least experienced member of the #Operation42K team. I will need to keep reminding myself to train to the best of MY ability and to try my hardest not to compare my pace, targets and goals with the others. I look forward to their support and offering them mine throughout and I expect we may break WhatsApp!

Every year me and my two children, Martha, 9 and Bill, 6 go to cheer the marathon runners on. And every year I am in awe and in a state cheering these strangers on! To think this year they will be cheering me on is nearly too much to handle.

You can follow my journey here and on @jilloherlihy on twitter and instagram – there will be a few vlogs too.

Knuckle down… this is going to be one hell of a ride!

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

